Minor Possession Alcohol Defense

Minor in possession of alcoholPossession of Alcohol Under the Legal Age (PAULA) or Minor in Possession (MIP)

MIP or PAULA refer to any minor (a person under the age of 21) that possesses, purchases or attempts to purchase, or consumes alcohol in the State of Michigan. Alcohol enforcement is a state responsibility and only local and state agencies can legally write MIP citations. Having said this, some charges and laws are very lenient in the court of law, and some are very harsh. That is why it is very important to contact an experienced law office like Kathryn Wayne-Spindler & Associates at 248-676-1000 to handle your Minor in Possession defense.

Minor in Possession of Alcohol Offenses

  • First offense: A first offense is the first time a minor has ever been convicted of a minor in possession charge. Consequences include a fine of no more than $100.00 and the possibility to correctional activities. These include substance abuse prevention services, substance abuse treatment, rehabilitation services, substance abuse screening (or assessments), or community service hours, set by the order of a judge in the court of law.
  • Second offense: A second offense is the second time a minor has been convicted of a minor in possession charge. Consequences for a second offense charge include a fine of no more than $200.00 and/or possible imprisonment for no more than 30 days (if the minor has violated previous probation, treatment, etc). In addition, the minor may also be subject to take part in substance prevention programs/treatment, rehabilitation services, screening, or community service hours at the minor’s expense, set by the judge in a court of law.
  • Third offense: A third offense is the third (or additional) time a minor has been convicted of a minor in possession charge. Consequences for a third offense charge include a fine of no more than $500.00 and/or possible imprisonment for no more than 60 days (if the minor has violated previous probation, treatment, etc). In addition the minor may also be subject to take part in substance prevention programs/treatment, rehabilitation services, screening, or community service hours at the minor’s expense, set by the judge in a court of law.

Check out this link for more information about the Michigan Liquor Control Code of 1998.

Minor Possession Alcohol defense

Although a MIP charge is a misdemeanor, it is important to work with an experienced law office like Kathryn Wayne-Spindler & Associates, to handle your Minor in Possession defense. Contact us at 248-676-1000 to discuss your Minor Possession Alcohol defense.

Kathryn Wayne-Spindler & Associates have many satisfied clients throughout the five counties of Southeastern Michigan – OaklandWashtenaw, Wayne, Genesee and Livingston. The Michigan Family Law Attorneys of Kathryn Wayne-Spindler & Associates have one simple objective: to handle our clients’ legal worries so they can concentrate on life and family. Contact Kathryn Wayne-Spindler & Associates today to learn more about our experience and success at 248-676-1000. We are conveniently located in Milford, Michigan. We help clients throughout Milford; Highland; Hartland; White Lake; Commerce; Waterford; West Bloomfield; Walled Lake; South Lyon; New Hudson; Wixom; Linden; Holly; Fenton; Grand Blanc; Flint and many more local communities.

Aggressive Attorneys – Compassionate Counsel

Milford Office Location